Niger has a total of 18 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Niger (Niamey)
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Concord Day
Sunday, April 24, 2022 Concord Day is a public holiday in Niger
Lailat al-Qadr
Friday, April 29, 2022 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Labour Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Niger (Niamey)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Monday, July 11, 2022 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a public holiday in Niger
Muharram
Saturday, July 30, 2022 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Nigerien Independence Day
Wednesday, August 3, 2022 Nigerien Independence Day is a public holiday in Niger
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Niger (Niamey)
The Prophet's Birthday
Saturday, October 8, 2022 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Nigerien Republic Day
Sunday, December 18, 2022 Nigerien Republic Day is a public holiday in Niger
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Niger (Niamey)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.