Malawi has a total of 24 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for New Year
Monday, January 3, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
John Chilembwe Day
Saturday, January 15, 2022 John Chilembwe Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for John Chilembwe Day
Monday, January 17, 2022 John Chilembwe Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Martyrs' Day
Thursday, March 3, 2022 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Malawi
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Saturday
Saturday, April 16, 2022 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Day off for May Day
Monday, May 2, 2022 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Kamuzu Day
Saturday, May 14, 2022 Kamuzu Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for Kamuzu Day
Monday, May 16, 2022 Kamuzu Day is a public holiday in Malawi
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 Independence Day is a public holiday in Malawi
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Mother's Day
Saturday, October 15, 2022 Mother's Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for Mother's Day
Monday, October 17, 2022 Mother's Day is a public holiday in Malawi
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for Christmas Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Malawi