Kenya has a total of 25 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Kenya (Nairobi)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
State Funeral for Former President Mwai Kibaki
Friday, April 29, 2022 State Funeral for Former President Mwai Kibaki is a public holiday in Kenya
Labour Day/May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Labour Day/May Day observed
Monday, May 2, 2022 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Eid al-Fitr
Monday, May 2, 2022 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 8, 2022 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Madaraka Day
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 Madaraka Day is a public holiday in Kenya
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Kenya (Nairobi)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, July 10, 2022 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Kenya (Nairobi)
Huduma Day
Monday, October 10, 2022 Huduma Day is a public holiday in Kenya
Mashujaa Day
Thursday, October 20, 2022 Mashujaa Day is a public holiday in Kenya
Diwali
Monday, October 24, 2022 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Jamhuri Day
Monday, December 12, 2022 Jamhuri Day is a public holiday in Kenya
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Kenya (Nairobi)
Christmas Eve
Saturday, December 24, 2022 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Kenya
Day off for Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.