Japan has a total of 30 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
January 2 Bank Holiday
Sunday, January 2, 2022 January 2 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
January 3 Bank Holiday
Monday, January 3, 2022 January 3 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
Coming of Age Day
Monday, January 10, 2022 Coming of Age Day is a national holiday in Japan
National Foundation Day
Friday, February 11, 2022 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in Japan
Valentine's Day
Monday, February 14, 2022 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Emperor's Birthday
Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Emperor's Birthday is a national holiday in Japan
Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival
Thursday, March 3, 2022 Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival is a observance in Japan
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Spring Equinox
Monday, March 21, 2022 Spring Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
Shōwa Day
Friday, April 29, 2022 Shōwa Day is a national holiday in Japan
Constitution Memorial Day
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 Constitution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Japan
Greenery Day
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 Greenery Day is a national holiday in Japan
Children's Day
Thursday, May 5, 2022 Children's Day is a national holiday in Japan
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Star Festival
Thursday, July 7, 2022 Star Festival is a observance in Japan
Sea Day
Monday, July 18, 2022 Sea Day is a national holiday in Japan
Hiroshima Memorial Day
Saturday, August 6, 2022 Hiroshima Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Nagasaki Memorial Day
Tuesday, August 9, 2022 Nagasaki Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Mountain Day
Thursday, August 11, 2022 Mountain Day is a national holiday in Japan
Respect for the Aged Day
Monday, September 19, 2022 Respect for the Aged Day is a national holiday in Japan
Autumn Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 Autumn Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Sports Day
Monday, October 10, 2022 Sports Day is a national holiday in Japan
Culture Day
Thursday, November 3, 2022 Culture Day is a national holiday in Japan
7-5-3 Day
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 7-5-3 Day is a observance in Japan
Labor Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, November 23, 2022 Labor Thanksgiving Day is a national holiday in Japan
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Christmas
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
December 31 Bank Holiday
Saturday, December 31, 2022 December 31 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan