Italy has a total of 24 holidays in 2022. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Saturday, January 1, 2022 New Year’s Day is celebrated in Italy on January 1 each year.
Epiphany
Thursday, January 6, 2022 Epiphany is a national holiday in Italy celebrated annually on January 6.
March Equinox
Sunday, March 20, 2022 March Equinox in Italy (Rome)
Good Friday
Friday, April 15, 2022 Good Friday is part of the Holy Week of Easter. The Pope leads a large procession, the Way of the Cross, in Rome.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 17, 2022 Easter Day is a public holiday that is celebrated widely throughout Italy each year.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 18, 2022 Easter Monday is a public holiday in Italy that is celebrated annually on the day after Easter Day.
Liberation Day
Monday, April 25, 2022 Celebrated on April 25 each year, Italy’s Liberation Day commemorates when the Allied troops liberated the country from the Nazi occupation during World War II.
The Feast of St Mark (Venice)
Monday, April 25, 2022 The Italian city of Venice has its own local public holiday, St Mark’s Day (Festa di San Marco) on April 25 each year.
Labor Day / May Day
Sunday, May 1, 2022 Labor Day is a national holiday annually held in Italy on May 1.
Republic Day
Thursday, June 2, 2022 Italy’s Republic Day is an annual public holiday on June 2 to commemorates the date Italians voted for their country end the monarchy and become a republic.
June Solstice
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 June Solstice in Italy (Rome)
The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin)
Friday, June 24, 2022 Florence, Turin and Genoa, in Italy, celebrate their own local holiday, the Feast of St John (Festa di San Giovanni) on June 24 each year.
The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome)
Wednesday, June 29, 2022 Rome, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul on June 29 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Monday, August 15, 2022 Assumption Day, also known as the Feast of the Assumption, is an annual public holiday in Italy on August 15.
Ferragosto
Monday, August 15, 2022 Ferragosto is a observance in Italy
The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples)
Monday, September 19, 2022 Naples, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saint Januarius on September 19 each year.
September Equinox
Friday, September 23, 2022 September Equinox in Italy (Rome)
All Saints' Day
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 In Italy All Saints’ Day is a national public holiday celebrated on November 1 to commemorate the Catholic saints.
The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan)
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 The Feast of Saint Ambrose is a day off for most people in Milan, one of Italy’s largest cities, on December 7 every year.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Thursday, December 8, 2022 Immaculate Conception Day is a nationwide holiday in Italy on December 8 that celebrates the belief that Jesus’ mother Mary is “free of sin”.
December Solstice
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 December Solstice in Italy (Rome)
Christmas Day
Sunday, December 25, 2022 Christmas Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 25 to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.
St. Stephen's Day
Monday, December 26, 2022 St Stephen’s Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Saturday, December 31, 2022 Many Italians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 to farewell the old year and prepare for the New Year.