New Zealand has a total of 42 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on January 1 each year.
Day after New Year's Day
Saturday, January 2, 2021 January 2 is a public holiday known as the Day after New Year’s Day in New Zealand
Day off for Day after New Year's Day
Monday, January 4, 2021 January 2 is a public holiday known as the Day after New Year’s Day in New Zealand
Wellington Anniversary Day
Monday, January 25, 2021 Wellington Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Northland Anniversary Day
Monday, February 1, 2021 Northland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Auckland Anniversary Day
Monday, February 1, 2021 Auckland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Nelson Anniversary Day
Monday, February 1, 2021 Nelson Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Waitangi Day
Saturday, February 6, 2021 On February 6 every year, New Zealanders celebrate Waitangi Day, a national holiday to commemorate the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document.
Day off for Waitangi Day
Monday, February 8, 2021 On February 6 every year, New Zealanders celebrate Waitangi Day, a national holiday to commemorate the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document.
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Taranaki Anniversary Day
Monday, March 8, 2021 Taranaki Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in New Zealand (Wellington)
Otago Anniversary Day
Monday, March 22, 2021 Otago Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
April Fools
Thursday, April 1, 2021 April Fools is a observance in New Zealand
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is two days before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Southland Anniversary Day
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 Southland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
ANZAC Day
Sunday, April 25, 2021 Many New Zealanders observe the Anzac Day public holiday on April 25 each year.
Day off for ANZAC Day
Monday, April 26, 2021 Many New Zealanders observe the Anzac Day public holiday on April 25 each year.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 7, 2021 The Queen’s birthday is an annual public holiday in New Zealand on the first Monday of June.
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in New Zealand (Wellington)
Father's Day
Sunday, September 5, 2021 Father's Day is celebrated on the first Sunday of September in New Zealand.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in New Zealand (Wellington)
South Canterbury Anniversary Day
Monday, September 27, 2021 South Canterbury Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Hawke's Bay Anniversary Day
Friday, October 22, 2021 Hawke's Bay Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Labour Day
Monday, October 25, 2021 Labour Day is a nationwide public holiday in New Zealand on the fourth Monday in October each year.
Halloween
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Marlborough Anniversary Day
Monday, November 1, 2021 Marlborough Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Guy Fawkes Night
Friday, November 5, 2021 Guy Fawkes Night is a observance in New Zealand
Canterbury Anniversary Day
Friday, November 12, 2021 Canterbury Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Chatham Islands Anniversary Day
Monday, November 29, 2021 Chatham Islands Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Westland Anniversary Day
Monday, November 29, 2021 Westland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in New Zealand (Wellington)
Christmas Eve
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Boxing Day, annually observed on December 26, is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Day off for Christmas Day
Monday, December 27, 2021 Christmas Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on December 25 each year.
Day off for Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 28, 2021 Boxing Day, annually observed on December 26, is a public holiday in New Zealand.
New Year's Eve
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.