Iceland has a total of 28 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Twelfth Night
Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Twelfth Night is a observance in Iceland
Valentine's Day
Sunday, February 14, 2021 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Iceland (Reykjavik)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 1, 2021 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 2, 2021 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 3, 2021 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 5, 2021 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
First Day of Summer
Thursday, April 22, 2021 First Day of Summer is a national holiday in Iceland
Labour Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 9, 2021 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 23, 2021 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 24, 2021 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Icelandic Republic Day
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Icelandic Republic Day is a national holiday in Iceland
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Iceland (Reykjavik)
Commerce Day
Monday, August 2, 2021 Commerce Day is a national holiday in Iceland
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Iceland (Reykjavik)
Halloween
Sunday, October 31, 2021 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Fathers' Day
Sunday, November 14, 2021 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Independence Day
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 Independence Day is a observance in Iceland
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Iceland (Reykjavik)
Christmas Eve (from noon)
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Saturday, December 25, 2021 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Second Day of Christmas
Sunday, December 26, 2021 Second Day of Christmas is a national holiday in Iceland
New Year's Eve (from noon)
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.