Ethiopia has a total of 16 holidays in 2021. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Ethiopian Christmas Day
Thursday, January 7, 2021 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Epiphany / Timkat
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 Epiphany / Timkat is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Adwa Victory Day
Tuesday, March 2, 2021 Adwa Victory Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
March Equinox
Saturday, March 20, 2021 March Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Ethiopian Good Friday
Friday, April 30, 2021 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
International Labor Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ethiopian Easter Sunday
Sunday, May 2, 2021 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Patriots' Day
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Patriots' Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Eid ul Fitr
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Derg Downfall Day
Friday, May 28, 2021 Derg Downfall Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
June Solstice
Monday, June 21, 2021 June Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Eid al-Adha
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 September Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Meskel
Monday, September 27, 2021 Meskel is a public holiday in Ethiopia
The Prophet's Birthday
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 December Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)