Sweden has a total of 34 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Twelfth Night
Sunday, January 5, 2020 Twelfth Night is a de facto half holiday in Sweden
Epiphany
Monday, January 6, 2020 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Valentine's Day
Friday, February 14, 2020 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Sweden (Stockholm)
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Daylight Saving Time starts in Sweden
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Walpurgis Night
Thursday, April 30, 2020 Walpurgis Night is a de facto half holiday in Sweden
May 1st
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Pentecost Eve
Saturday, May 30, 2020 Pentecost Eve is a de facto holiday in Sweden
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
National day
Saturday, June 6, 2020 National day is a public holiday in Sweden
Midsummer Eve
Friday, June 19, 2020 Midsummer Eve is a de facto holiday in Sweden
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Sweden (Stockholm)
Midsummer Day
Saturday, June 20, 2020 Midsummer Day is a public holiday in Sweden
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Sweden (Stockholm)
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday, October 25, 2020 Daylight Saving Time ends in Sweden
All Saints' Eve
Friday, October 30, 2020 All Saints' Eve is a de facto half holiday in Sweden
All Saints' Day
Saturday, October 31, 2020 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Father's Day
Sunday, November 8, 2020 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
First Advent Sunday
Sunday, November 29, 2020 The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 6, 2020 Second Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Sweden
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 13, 2020 Third Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Sweden
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday, December 20, 2020 Fourth Advent Sunday is a observance and Christian holiday in Sweden
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Sweden (Stockholm)
Christmas Eve
Thursday, December 24, 2020 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Sweden
New Year's Eve
Thursday, December 31, 2020 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.