New Zealand has a total of 40 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on January 1 each year.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Day after New Year's Day
January 2 is a public holiday known as the Day after New Year’s Day in New Zealand
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Wellington Anniversary Day
Monday, January 20, 2020
Northland Anniversary Day
Monday, January 27, 2020
Auckland Anniversary Day
Monday, January 27, 2020
Nelson Anniversary Day
Monday, February 3, 2020
Waitangi Day
On February 6 every year, New Zealanders celebrate Waitangi Day, a national holiday to commemorate the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document.
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Friday, February 14, 2020
Taranaki Anniversary Day
Monday, March 9, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Otago Anniversary Day
Monday, March 23, 2020
April Fools
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Good Friday
Good Friday is two days before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday, April 11, 2020
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Monday, April 13, 2020
Southland Anniversary Day
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
ANZAC Day
Many New Zealanders observe the Anzac Day public holiday on April 25 each year.
Saturday, April 25, 2020
ANZAC Day observed
Many New Zealanders observe the Anzac Day public holiday on April 25 each year.
Monday, April 27, 2020
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday, May 10, 2020
Queen's Birthday
The Queen’s birthday is an annual public holiday in New Zealand on the first Monday of June.
Monday, June 1, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Father's Day
Father's Day is celebrated on the first Sunday of September in New Zealand.
Sunday, September 6, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
South Canterbury Anniversary Day
Monday, September 28, 2020
Hawke's Bay Anniversary Day
Friday, October 23, 2020
Labour Day
Labour Day is a nationwide public holiday in New Zealand on the fourth Monday in October each year.
Monday, October 26, 2020
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Saturday, October 31, 2020
Marlborough Anniversary Day
Monday, November 2, 2020
Guy Fawkes Night
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Canterbury Anniversary Day
Friday, November 13, 2020
Diwali/Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Saturday, November 14, 2020
Chatham Islands Anniversary Day
Monday, November 30, 2020
Westland Anniversary Day
Monday, November 30, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on December 25 each year.
Friday, December 25, 2020
Boxing Day
Boxing Day, annually observed on December 26, is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Boxing Day Observed
Monday, December 28, 2020
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Thursday, December 31, 2020