Italy has a total of 23 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is celebrated in Italy on January 1 each year.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Epiphany
Epiphany is a national holiday in Italy celebrated annually on January 6.
Monday, January 6, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Good Friday
Good Friday is part of the Holy Week of Easter. The Pope leads a large procession, the Way of the Cross, in Rome.
Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Sunday
Easter Day is a public holiday that is celebrated widely throughout Italy each year.
Sunday, April 12, 2020
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is a public holiday in Italy that is celebrated annually on the day after Easter Day.
Monday, April 13, 2020
Liberation Day
Celebrated on April 25 each year, Italy’s Liberation Day commemorates when the Allied troops liberated the country from the Nazi occupation during World War II.
Saturday, April 25, 2020
The Feast of St Mark
The Italian city of Venice has its own local public holiday, St Mark’s Day (Festa di San Marco) on April 25 each year.
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Labor Day / May Day
Labor Day is a national holiday annually held in Italy on May 1.
Friday, May 1, 2020
Republic Day
Italy’s Republic Day is an annual public holiday on June 2 to commemorates the date Italians voted for their country end the monarchy and become a republic.
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin)
Florence, Turin and Genoa, in Italy, celebrate their own local holiday, the Feast of St John (Festa di San Giovanni) on June 24 each year.
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome)
Rome, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul on June 29 each year.
Monday, June 29, 2020
Assumption of Mary / Ferragosto
Assumption Day, also known as the Feast of the Assumption, is an annual public holiday in Italy on August 15.
Saturday, August 15, 2020
The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples)
Naples, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saint Januarius on September 19 each year.
Saturday, September 19, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
All Saints' Day
In Italy All Saints’ Day is a national public holiday celebrated on November 1 to commemorate the Catholic saints.
Sunday, November 1, 2020
The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan)
The Feast of Saint Ambrose is a day off for most people in Milan, one of Italy’s largest cities, on December 7 every year.
Monday, December 7, 2020
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Immaculate Conception Day is a nationwide holiday in Italy on December 8 that celebrates the belief that Jesus’ mother Mary is “free of sin”.
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 25 to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.
Friday, December 25, 2020
St. Stephen's Day
St Stephen’s Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 26.
Saturday, December 26, 2020
New Year's Eve
Many Italians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 to farewell the old year and prepare for the New Year.
Thursday, December 31, 2020