Guyana has a total of 20 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day Holiday
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Mashramani (Republic Day)
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Mashramani (Republic Day) is a public holiday in Guyana
Day off for Mashramani (Republic Day)
Monday, February 24, 2020 Mashramani (Republic Day) is a public holiday in Guyana
Phagwah (Holi)
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020 March Equinox in Guyana (Georgetown)
Good Friday
Friday, April 10, 2020 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 13, 2020 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Arrival Day
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Arrival Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Independence Day
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 Independence Day is a public holiday in Guyana
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020 June Solstice in Guyana (Georgetown)
CARICOM Day
Monday, July 6, 2020 CARICOM Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Eid ul Adha
Friday, July 31, 2020 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Emancipation Day
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Guyana
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020 September Equinox in Guyana (Georgetown)
Youman-Nabi (Mawlid)
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Deepavali
Saturday, November 14, 2020 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020 December Solstice in Guyana (Georgetown)
Christmas Day
Friday, December 25, 2020 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Guyana