Bhutan has a total of 20 holidays in 2020. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
Winter Solstice (Nyilo)
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Traditional Day of Offerings
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Losar (New Year)
Saturday, January 25, 2020
King's Birthday
Sunday, February 23, 2020
March Equinox
Friday, March 20, 2020
Birth Anniversary of Third Druk Gyalpo
Saturday, May 2, 2020
Death Anniversary of Zhabdrung (Zhabdrung Kuchoe)
Saturday, May 2, 2020
Buddha's Parinirvana
Friday, June 5, 2020
June Solstice
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Birth Anniversary of Guru Rinpoche
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Buddha's First Sermon
Friday, July 24, 2020
September Equinox
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Blessed Rainy Day
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Thimphu Drubchoe (Thimphu only)
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Dashain
Monday, October 26, 2020
King Jigme Khesar Namgyel's Coronation
Sunday, November 1, 2020
Descending Day of Lord Buddha
Saturday, November 7, 2020
Birth Anniversary of the Fourth Druk Gyalpo/Consitution Day
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
National Day
Thursday, December 17, 2020
December Solstice
Monday, December 21, 2020