Chad has a total of 19 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Chad (N'Djamena)
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Eid al-Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Chad (N'Djamena)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Independence Day
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Chad
Independence Day observed
Monday, August 12, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Chad
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Chad (N'Djamena)
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
The Prophet's Birthday
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Proclamation of the Republic
Thursday, November 28, 2019 Proclamation of the Republic is a public holiday in Chad
Freedom and Democracy Day
Sunday, December 1, 2019 Freedom and Democracy Day is a public holiday in Chad
Freedom and Democracy Day observed
Monday, December 2, 2019 Freedom and Democracy Day is a public holiday in Chad
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Chad (N'Djamena)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.