Niger has a total of 18 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22
Concord Day
Wednesday April 24
Labour Day
Wednesday May 1
Lailat al-Qadr
Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Friday May 31
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
Father's Day
Sunday June 16
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Nigerien Independence Day
Saturday August 3
Eid al-Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Tuesday August 13
Muharram
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday September 1
September Equinox
Monday September 23
The Prophet's Birthday
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10
Nigerien Republic Day
Wednesday December 18
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25