Malawi has a total of 19 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
John Chilembwe Day
Tuesday January 15
Martyrs' Day
Sunday March 3
Day off for Martyrs' Day
Monday March 4
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Easter Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22
May Day
Wednesday May 1
Kamuzu Day
Tuesday May 14
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Independence Day
Saturday July 6
Day off for Independence Day
Monday July 8
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Mother's Day
Tuesday October 15
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
Boxing Day
Thursday December 26