Maldives has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Presidential Address Holiday
Thursday February 7
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Election Day Holiday
Sunday April 7
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Ramadan Start
Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
Monday May 6
Eid ul Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday June 5
Eid ul Fitr Day Two
Thursday June 6
Eid ul Fitr Day Three
Friday June 7
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Independence Day
Friday July 26
Independence Day Holiday
Saturday July 27
Hajj Day
Sunday August 11
Eid ul Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Sunday September 1
September Equinox
Monday September 23
National Day
Tuesday October 29
Victory Day
Sunday November 3
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10
Republic Day
Monday November 11
The Day Maldives Embraced Islam
Friday November 29
December Solstice
Sunday December 22