Kenya has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday, April 21, 2019
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday, April 22, 2019
Labour Day/May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019
Madaraka Day
Saturday, June 1, 2019
Eid al-Fitr
Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019
Eid al-Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019
Moi Day
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Mashujaa Day
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Mashujaa Day observed
Monday, October 21, 2019
Diwali
Sunday, October 27, 2019
Jamhuri Day
Thursday, December 12, 2019
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019