Guyana has a total of 21 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
Mashramani (Republic Day)
Saturday February 23
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Phagwah (Holi)
Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Thursday March 21
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22
Labor Day / May Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Arrival Day
Sunday May 5
Day off for Arrival Day
Monday May 6
Independence Day
Sunday May 26
Day off for Independence Day
Monday May 27
June Solstice
Friday June 21
CARICOM Day
Monday July 1
Emancipation Day
Thursday August 1
Eid ul Adha
Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Monday August 12
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Deepavali
Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Sunday October 27
Youman-Nabi (Mawlid)
Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Sunday November 10
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25
Boxing Day
Thursday December 26