Guyana has a total of 23 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day Holiday
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Mashramani (Republic Day)
Saturday, February 23, 2019 Mashramani (Republic Day) is a public holiday in Guyana
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Guyana (Georgetown)
Phagwah (Holi)
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Holi is a spring festival of colors celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs and others. It celebrates the triumph of good over evil and the upcoming season of spring. The festival can last up to sixteen days.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Arrival Day
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Arrival Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Day off for Arrival Day
Monday, May 6, 2019 Arrival Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Independence Day
Sunday, May 26, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Day off for Independence Day
Monday, May 27, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Guyana
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Guyana (Georgetown)
CARICOM Day
Monday, July 1, 2019 CARICOM Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Emancipation Day
Thursday, August 1, 2019 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Guyana
Eid ul Adha
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Guyana (Georgetown)
Deepavali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Day off for Deepavali
Monday, October 28, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Youman-Nabi (Mawlid)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Day off for Youman-Nabi (Mawlid)
Monday, November 11, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Guyana (Georgetown)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Guyana