Dominica has a total of 19 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Carnival Monday
Monday, March 4, 2019 Carnival Monday is a public holiday in Dominica
Carnival Tuesday
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday that is on the day before Ash Wednesday. It is also known as the Tuesday of Carnival, which is a festive occasion among many cultures.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Dominica (Roseau)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 6, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Dominica (Roseau)
Emancipation Day
Monday, August 5, 2019 Emancipation Day is a public holiday in Dominica
Anniversary of Passing of Hurricane Maria
Thursday, September 19, 2019 Anniversary of Passing of Hurricane Maria is a public holiday in Dominica
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Dominica (Roseau)
Independence Day
Sunday, November 3, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Dominica
Independence Day observed
Monday, November 4, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Dominica
Community Service Day
Monday, November 4, 2019 Community Service Day is a public holiday in Dominica
Community Service Day observed
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Community Service Day is a public holiday in Dominica
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Dominica (Roseau)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Dominica