China has a total of 33 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1
New Year's weekend
Wednesday January 2
Spring Festival Eve
Monday February 4
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year, also known as the Spring Festival, is one of the largest celebratory events in China.
Tuesday February 5
Spring Festival Golden Week holiday
Sunday February 10
Lantern Festival
Tuesday February 19
International Women's Day
Friday March 8
Zhonghe Festival
Friday March 8
Arbor Day
Tuesday March 12
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Qing Ming Jie
Friday April 5
Qing Ming Jie holiday
Sunday April 7
Special Working Day
Sunday May 5
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1
Labour Day Holiday
Friday May 3
Youth Day
Saturday May 4
Children's Day
Saturday June 1
Dragon Boat Festival
The Dragon Boat Festival is also known as the Duanwu Festival in China. It is celebrated on the fifth day of the fifth month on the Chinese lunisolar calendar.
Friday June 7
June Solstice
Friday June 21
CPC Founding Day
Monday July 1
Maritime Day
Thursday July 11
Army Day
Thursday August 1
Chinese Valentine's Day
Wednesday August 7
Spirit Festival
Thursday August 15
Teachers' Day
Tuesday September 10
Mid-Autumn Festival
Friday September 13
September Equinox
Monday September 23
National Day
Tuesday October 1
National Day Golden Week holiday
Monday October 7
Double Ninth Festival
Monday October 7
Journalists' Day
Friday November 8
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25