Australia has a total of 114 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year's Day is the first day of the year in the Gregorian calendar used in Australia and many other countries.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Many people in countries such as Australia annually observe Epiphany on January 6.
Orthodox Christmas Day
Monday, January 7, 2019 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia observe Christmas Day on or near January 7 in the Gregorian calendar.
Orthodox New Year
Monday, January 14, 2019 Many Orthodox Christian churches in countries such as Australia celebrate New Year’s Day on January 14 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)
Monday, January 21, 2019 Tu B’Shevat is known as the “New Year for Trees”, is one of the four Jewish New Years.
Australia Day
Saturday, January 26, 2019 Australia Day is a day of celebrations for Australians. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Australia Day Observed
Monday, January 28, 2019 Australia Day is a day of celebrations for Australians. It is celebrated on January 26 each year.
Chinese New Year
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Chinese New Year marks the first day of the New Year in the Chinese calendar.
Chinese New Year (Day 2)
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 Chinese New Year (Day 2) is a state holiday in Australia
Royal Hobart Regatta
Monday, February 11, 2019 The Royal Hobart Regatta is an annual public holiday in southern Tasmania, Australia, on the second Monday in February.
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day, which is annually held on February 14, is one of the most romantic days in the year for many people in countries such as Australia.
Labour Day
Monday, March 4, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Shrove Tuesday is the day before the start of the Lent period for many Christians in Australia.
Foundation Day
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Foundation Day is a state holiday in Australia
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in for many Christians in Australia.
May Day
Monday, March 11, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Eight Hours Day
Monday, March 11, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Adelaide Cup
Monday, March 11, 2019 Adelaide Cup is a state holiday and a horse racing event in South Australia.
Canberra Day
Monday, March 11, 2019 Canberra Day is a public holiday that celebrates Canberra’s official founding in the Australian Capital Territory.
St Patrick's Day
Sunday, March 17, 2019 St Patrick’s Day is a popular observance in Australia to honor Irish culture and commemorate one of Ireland’s patron saints, St Patrick.
Labour Day
Monday, March 18, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Purim
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Purim commemorates a time when Jewish people were saved from death around the fourth century BCE, according to the Book of Esther.
Harmony Day
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Harmony Day is a national observance that celebrates Australia’s cultural, linguistic and religious diversity on March 21 every year.
National Close the Gap Day
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Isra and Mi'raj
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night when the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
Daylight Saving Time ends
Saturday, April 6, 2019 Daylight Saving Time ends in Australia
Self Determination Day
Saturday, April 6, 2019 Self Determination Day is a state holiday in Australia
Day off for Self Determination Day
Monday, April 8, 2019 Self Determination Day is a state holiday in Australia
Palm Sunday
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Palm Sunday in Australia celebrates Jesus Christ’s entry into Jerusalem. It is also the Sunday before Easter Sunday.
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Many Christians in the Australia celebrate Maundy Thursday on the Thursday before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
First day of Passover
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Passover is a Jewish observance of the liberation from slavery and the Israelites' exodus from Egypt around 3000 years ago.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in some states and the two territories in Australia.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 On Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ after his crucifixion.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a nationwide holiday in Australia.
Easter Tuesday
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Easter Tuesday is a public holiday in the Australian state of Tasmania.
ANZAC Day
Thursday, April 25, 2019 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
ANZAC Day Observed
Thursday, April 25, 2019 ANZAC Day is the anniversary of the landing of troops from Australia and New Zealand on the Gallipoli Peninsula in Turkey during in World War I.
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 26, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion on Great Friday.
Last day of Passover
Saturday, April 27, 2019 The last day of Passover marks the end of the Passover period, which lasts for seven or eight days.
Orthodox Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 27, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia remember Jesus Christ’s burial and his descent into Hades on Holy Saturday.
Orthodox Easter
Sunday, April 28, 2019 Many Orthodox Christians in Australia celebrate Jesus Christ’s resurrection on Easter Sunday, also known as Pascha.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 29, 2019 Many Orthodox churches in Australia observe Easter Monday on the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday date.
Yom HaShoah
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Yom Hashoah remembers the lives and sacrifices of about six million Holocaust victims who died during World War II. This observance is annually held on the 27th day of the month of Nisan.
Ramadan Start
Monday, May 6, 2019 Many Muslims in Australia welcome Ramadan as period of fasting, self-evaluation and spiritual growth. Ramadan is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
May Day
Monday, May 6, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Yom HaAtzmaut
Thursday, May 9, 2019 Many Jewish communities in Australia celebrate Yom Ha’Atzmaut, which is Israel’s Independence Day, on the fifth day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day is celebrated in Australia on the second Sunday of May each year.
Lag B'Omer
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Many Jewish Australians observe Lag B’Omer on the 18th day of the month of Iyar in the Jewish calendar.
National Sorry Day
Sunday, May 26, 2019 National Sorry Day is an Australia-wide observance that acknowledges the impact of Australia’s Stolen Generations.
Reconciliation Day
Monday, May 27, 2019 Reconciliation Day is a state holiday in the Australian Capital Territory.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter and commemorates Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven, according to Christian belief.
Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power)
Friday, May 31, 2019 Laylat al-Qadr is most likely to be held on one of the last 10 days of month of Ramadan in the Islamic calendar.
Western Australia Day
Monday, June 3, 2019 Foundation Day is a public holiday in the state of Western Australia to commemorate the founding of the first British colony in the state.
Eid ul Fitr
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid al-Fitr, which is on the first day of the Islamic month of Shawwal, marks the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan.
Hari Raya Puasa
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Queensland Day
Thursday, June 6, 2019 Queenslanders commemorate their state’s birthday on Queensland Day in Australia.
Bounty Day
Saturday, June 8, 2019 Bounty Day is a state holiday in Australia
Pentecost
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Many Christians in Australia observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Shavuot
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Shavuot, also known as the Festival of Weeks, is one of three major Jewish festivals celebrated among many Jewish Australians.
Whit Monday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Whit Monday is a Christian observance also known as Pentecost Monday. It is the day after Pentecost, or Whitsunday.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 10, 2019 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
Day off for Bounty Day
Monday, June 10, 2019 Bounty Day is a state holiday in Australia
Trinity Sunday
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Many churches in Australia observe Trinity Sunday, a Christian feast that occurs on the first Sunday after Pentecost.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 17, 2019 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
Corpus Christi
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Corpus Christi is a Christian observance that honors the Holy Eucharist.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
First Day of NAIDOC Week
Sunday, July 7, 2019 First Day of NAIDOC Week is a observance in Australia
New South Wales Bank Holiday
Monday, August 5, 2019 The New South Wales Bank Holiday falls on the first Monday of August.
Northern Territory Picnic Day
Monday, August 5, 2019 Picnic Day is a public holiday annually held in Australia’s Northern Territory on the first Monday of August.
Tisha B'Av
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Tisha B’Av is on the ninth day of the month of Av in the Jewish calendar.
Eid ul Adha
Monday, August 12, 2019 Many Muslims in Australia celebrate Eid al- Adha around the 10th to the 13th days of the Islamic month of Dhu al-Hijjah.
Hari Raya Haji
Monday, August 12, 2019 Hari Raya Haji is a state holiday in Australia
Royal National Agricultural Show Day Queensland
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 The Royal National Agricultural (RNA) Show Day is usually held in Brisbane, the capital city of the state of Queensland, Australia, on the second or third Wednesday in August.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 The Feast of the Assumption of Mary is an annual Christian observance in Australia held on August 15. It is considered a Holy Day of Obligation - a day when some Christian denominations are obliged to attend mass.
Muharram/Islamic New Year
Sunday, September 1, 2019 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Father's Day
Sunday, September 1, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates the contribution that fathers and father figures make to their children’s lives.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Australia (Sydney)
Friday before the AFL Grand Final
Friday, September 27, 2019 Friday before the AFL Grand Final is a state holiday in Australia
AFL Grand Final Friday
Friday, September 27, 2019 AFL Grand Final Friday is a state holiday in Australia
Rosh Hashana
Monday, September 30, 2019 Rosh Hashana, also spelled Rosh Hashanah, is commonly known as the Jewish New Year. The event begins on the first day of Tishrei (or Tishri), which is the seventh month in the Jewish calendar.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, September 30, 2019 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
Feast of St Francis of Assisi
Friday, October 4, 2019 Many churches in Australia celebrate the Feast of St Francis of Assisi to honor St Francis, the patron saint of animals and the environment, on October 4 each year.
Daylight Saving Time starts
Saturday, October 5, 2019 Daylight Saving Time starts in Australia
Territory Day
Monday, October 7, 2019 Territory Day is a state holiday in Australia
Queen's Birthday
Monday, October 7, 2019 Many Australians celebrate the Queen's Birthday each year, as Australia is a constitutional monarchy.
May Day
Monday, October 7, 2019 Labour Day in Australia celebrates workers’ role in contributing towards the nation’s economy. It is an annual public holiday but its date varies across the states and territories.
Yom Kippur
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 Yom Kippur is an important Jewish holiday that falls on the 10th day of the month of Tishrei in the Jewish calendar.
First day of Sukkot
Monday, October 14, 2019 The first day of Sukkot marks the start of the Sukkot festival for Jewish communities in Australia.
Norfolk Island Agricultural Show Day
Monday, October 14, 2019 Norfolk Island Agricultural Show Day is a state holiday in Australia
Hoshana Rabbah
Sunday, October 20, 2019 Many Jewish communities in Australia observe the last day of Sukkot, which marks the end of the Sukkot festival.
Shemini Atzeret
Monday, October 21, 2019 Shemini Atzeret (or Shmini Atzeret) is a Jewish holiday dedicated to the love of God, while Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) marks the end of Sukkot and celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Simchat Torah
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Simchat Torah (Simchas Torah or Simhat Torah) is a Jewish holiday that celebrates the completion of the annual reading of the Torah.
Diwali/Deepavali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, marks the beginning of the Hindu New Year.
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in Australian communities on October 31 each year.
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 Many churches in Australia annually observe All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
All Souls' Day
Saturday, November 2, 2019 All Souls’ Day is observed among some Christians in Australia on November 2 each year.
Recreation Day
Monday, November 4, 2019 Recreation Day is annually celebrated in northern Tasmania, in Australia, on the first Monday of November.
Melbourne Cup Day
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Melbourne Cup Day is Australia’s most celebrated horse racing event. It is an annual public holiday in the state of Victoria and is observed nationwide on the first Tuesday of November.
Hari Maulad Nabi
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Hari Maulad Nabi is a state holiday in Australia
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Eid Milad ul-Nabi marks the anniversary of the Prophet Muhammad's birth and death.
Remembrance Day
Monday, November 11, 2019 Remembrance Day in Australia is annually observed on November 11 although it is not a public holiday. This event remembers those who died as a result of war, particularly from World War I onwards.
Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 Thanksgiving Day is a state holiday in Australia
First Sunday of Advent
Sunday, December 1, 2019 Many Christians mark the First Sunday of Advent as the start of the Advent season leading up to Christmas.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 Some Christians, particularly those of Catholic faith, in Australia mark the Feast of the Immaculate Conception on or around December 8.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Australia (Sydney)
First Day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 23, 2019 The first day of Hanukkah is the start of the Hanukkah period, which lasts for 8 days, from the 25th day of the month of Kislev to the second day of Tevet in the Hebrew calendar.
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve in Australia is annually celebrated on December 24, which is the day before Christmas Day.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas Day, which is in the middle of summer in Australia.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 December 26 is the Boxing Day holiday celebrated in Australia.
Proclamation Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Proclamation Day is a state holiday in Australia
Last day of Hanukkah
Monday, December 30, 2019 The last day of Hanukkah marks the end of a festive Jewish occasion, known as Hanukkah or Chanukah.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Many Australians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 each year, which coincides with the date before New Year’s Day in the Gregorian calendar.