Zambia has a total of 22 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
International Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2019 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Youth Day
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 Youth Day is a public holiday in Zambia
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Zambia (Lusaka)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Africa Freedom Day
Saturday, May 25, 2019 Africa Freedom Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Father's Day
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Zambia (Lusaka)
Heroes' Day
Monday, July 1, 2019 Heroes' Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Unity Day
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 Unity Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Farmers' Day
Monday, August 5, 2019 Farmers' Day is a public holiday in Zambia
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Zambia (Lusaka)
Prayer Day
Friday, October 18, 2019 Prayer Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Independence Day
Thursday, October 24, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Zambia
Independence Day Holiday
Friday, October 25, 2019 Independence Day Holiday is a public holiday in Zambia
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Zambia (Lusaka)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.