Sweden has a total of 33 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
Twelfth Night
Saturday January 5 Observance
Epiphany
Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Sunday January 6 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Daylight Saving Time starts
Sunday March 31 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday April 19 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday April 20 Observance
Easter Day
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 21 National holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 22 National holiday
Walpurgis Night
Tuesday April 30 Observance
May 1st
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Mother's Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 26 Observance
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 30 National holiday
National day
Thursday June 6 National holiday
Pentecost Eve
Saturday June 8 Observance
Whit Sunday
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday June 9 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Midsummer Eve
Friday June 21 Observance
Midsummer Day
Saturday June 22 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Daylight Saving Time ends
Sunday October 27 Clock change/Daylight Saving Time
All Saints' Eve
Friday November 1 Observance
All Saints' Day
Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Saturday November 2 National holiday
Father's Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday November 10 Observance
First Advent Sunday
The first Sunday of Advent marks the beginning of the Christian year.
Sunday December 1 Observance,Christian
Second Advent Sunday
Sunday December 8 Observance,Christian
Third Advent Sunday
Sunday December 15 Observance,Christian
Fourth Advent Sunday
Sunday December 22 Observance,Christian
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
Boxing Day
Thursday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 31 Observance