New Zealand has a total of 38 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on January 1 each year.
Day after New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 January 2 is a public holiday known as the Day after New Year’s Day in New Zealand
Wellington Anniversary Day
Monday, January 21, 2019 Wellington Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Northland Anniversary Day
Monday, January 28, 2019 Northland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Auckland Anniversary Day
Monday, January 28, 2019 Auckland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Nelson Anniversary Day
Monday, February 4, 2019 Nelson Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Waitangi Day
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 On February 6 every year, New Zealanders celebrate Waitangi Day, a national holiday to commemorate the Treaty of Waitangi, New Zealand’s founding document.
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Taranaki Anniversary Day
Monday, March 11, 2019 Taranaki Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in New Zealand (Wellington)
Otago Anniversary Day
Monday, March 25, 2019 Otago Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
April Fools
Monday, April 1, 2019 April Fools is a observance in New Zealand
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is two days before Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday and is a public holiday in New Zealand.
Southland Anniversary Day
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Southland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
ANZAC Day
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Many New Zealanders observe the Anzac Day public holiday on April 25 each year.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Queen's Birthday
Monday, June 3, 2019 The Queen’s birthday is an annual public holiday in New Zealand on the first Monday of June.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in New Zealand (Wellington)
Father's Day
Sunday, September 1, 2019 Father's Day is celebrated on the first Sunday of September in New Zealand.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in New Zealand (Wellington)
South Canterbury Anniversary Day
Monday, September 23, 2019 South Canterbury Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Hawke's Bay Anniversary Day
Friday, October 25, 2019 Hawke's Bay Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Diwali/Deepavali
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights, is one of the most popular Hindu festivals.
Labour Day
Monday, October 28, 2019 Labour Day is a nationwide public holiday in New Zealand on the fourth Monday in October each year.
Halloween
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Marlborough Anniversary Day
Monday, November 4, 2019 Marlborough Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Guy Fawkes Night
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Guy Fawkes Night is a observance in New Zealand
Canterbury Anniversary Day
Friday, November 15, 2019 Canterbury Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Chatham Islands Anniversary Day
Monday, December 2, 2019 Chatham Islands Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
Westland Anniversary Day
Monday, December 2, 2019 Westland Anniversary Day is a local holiday in New Zealand
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in New Zealand (Wellington)
Christmas Eve
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is a public holiday in New Zealand on December 25 each year.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day, annually observed on December 26, is a public holiday in New Zealand.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.