Nepal has a total of 46 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
Prithvi Jayanti
Friday January 11 National holiday
Maghe Sankranti
Tuesday January 15 National holiday
Martyrs' Memorial Day
Wednesday January 30 Observance
Sonam Losar (Tamang New Year)
Tuesday February 5 National holiday
National Democracy Day
Tuesday February 19 Observance
Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 4 National holiday
Gyalpo Losar
Thursday March 7 National holiday
Nari Dibas
Friday March 8 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Godhe Yatra
Friday April 5 National holiday
Ram Nawami
Sunday April 14 Observance
Nepali New Year
Sunday April 14 National holiday
Loktantra Diwas
Wednesday April 24 National holiday
Majdoor Divas
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Buddha Jayanti
Saturday May 18 National holiday
Ganatantra Diwas (Republic Day)
Wednesday May 29 National holiday
Ramjan Edul Fikra
Wednesday June 5 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Edul Aajaha
Monday August 12 National holiday
Janai Purnima
Thursday August 15 National holiday
Gai Jatra
Monday August 19 National holiday
Shree Krishna Janamashtami
Friday August 23 National holiday
Hartalika Teej
Sunday September 1 National holiday
Rishi Panchami
Tuesday September 3 National holiday
Gaura Parba
Friday September 6 National holiday
Civil Service Day
Saturday September 7 National holiday
Indra Jatra
Thursday September 12 National holiday
Constitution Day
Thursday September 19 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Ghatasthapana
Sunday September 29 National holiday
Phulpati (Dashain)
Saturday October 5 National holiday
Astami (Dashain)
Sunday October 6 National holiday
Nawami (Dashain)
Monday October 7 National holiday
Dashami (Dashain)
Tuesday October 8 National holiday
Ekadashi (Dashain)
Wednesday October 9 National holiday
Duwadashi (Dashain)
Thursday October 10 National holiday
Kojagrat Purnima
Sunday October 13 National holiday
Laxmi Puja (Tihar)
Sunday October 27 National holiday
Gobhardan Pujan (Tihar)
Monday October 28 National holiday
Bhai Tika (Tihar)
Tuesday October 29 National holiday
Chhat Parwa
Saturday November 2 National holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Tuesday November 12 National holiday
Udhauli Parva
Thursday December 12 National holiday
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season
Christmas Day
Wednesday December 25 National holiday
Tamu Lhosar
Tuesday December 31 National holiday