Nepal has a total of 49 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
Maghe Sankranti
Tuesday January 15
Martyrs' Memorial Day
Wednesday January 30
Sonam Losar (Tamang New Year)
Tuesday February 5
National Democracy Day
Tuesday February 19
National Mourning Day
Thursday February 28
Maha Shivaratri
Monday March 4
Gyalpo Losar
Thursday March 7
Nari Dibas
Friday March 8
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20
Holi Purnima (Hill region)
Wednesday March 20
Holi Purnima (Terai region)
Thursday March 21
Godhe Yatra
Friday April 5
Ram Nawami
Sunday April 14
Nepali New Year
Sunday April 14
Loktantra Diwas
Wednesday April 24
Majdoor Divas
Wednesday May 1
Buddha Jayanti
Saturday May 18
Ganatantra Diwas (Republic Day)
Wednesday May 29
Ramjan Edul Fikra
Wednesday June 5
June Solstice
Friday June 21
Edul Aajaha
Monday August 12
Janai Purnima
Thursday August 15
Gai Jatra
Monday August 19
Gaura Parba
Friday August 23
Shree Krishna Janamashtami
Friday August 23
Hartalika Teej
Monday September 2
Rishi Panchami
Tuesday September 3
Civil Service Day
Saturday September 7
Indra Jatra
Thursday September 12
Constitution Day
Friday September 20
September Equinox
Monday September 23
Sunday September 29
Phulpati (Dashain)
Saturday October 5
Astami (Dashain)
Sunday October 6
Nawami (Dashain)
Monday October 7
Dashami (Dashain)
Tuesday October 8
Ekadashi (Dashain)
Wednesday October 9
Duwadashi (Dashain)
Thursday October 10
Kojagrat Purnima
Sunday October 13
Laxmi Puja (Tihar)
Sunday October 27
Gobhardan Pujan (Tihar)
Monday October 28
Bhai Tika (Tihar)
Tuesday October 29
Chhat Parwa
Saturday November 2
Guru Nanak Jayanti
Tuesday November 12
International Day of Disabled Persons
Tuesday December 3
Udhauli Parva
Thursday December 12
December Solstice
Sunday December 22
Christmas Day
Wednesday December 25
Tamu Lhosar
Tuesday December 31