Malawi has a total of 19 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
John Chilembwe Day
Tuesday, January 15, 2019 John Chilembwe Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Martyrs' Day
Sunday, March 3, 2019 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for Martyrs' Day
Monday, March 4, 2019 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Malawi
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Saturday
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Labor Day, or May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Kamuzu Day
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Kamuzu Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Eid al-Fitr
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Independence Day
Saturday, July 6, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Malawi
Day off for Independence Day
Monday, July 8, 2019 Independence Day is a public holiday in Malawi
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Mother's Day
Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Mother's Day is a public holiday in Malawi
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Malawi (Lilongwe)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Malawi