Japan has a total of 36 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
January 2 Bank Holiday
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 January 2 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
January 3 Bank Holiday
Thursday, January 3, 2019 January 3 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan
Coming of Age Day
Monday, January 14, 2019 Coming of Age Day is a national holiday in Japan
National Foundation Day
Monday, February 11, 2019 National Foundation Day is a national holiday in Japan
Valentine's Day
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival
Sunday, March 3, 2019 Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival is a observance in Japan
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Spring Equinox
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Spring Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
Shōwa Day
Monday, April 29, 2019 Shōwa Day is a national holiday in Japan
Coronation Day holiday
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Coronation Day holiday is a national holiday in Japan
Coronation Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Coronation Day is a national holiday in Japan
Coronation Day holiday
Thursday, May 2, 2019 Coronation Day holiday is a national holiday in Japan
Constitution Memorial Day
Friday, May 3, 2019 Constitution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Japan
Greenery Day
Saturday, May 4, 2019 Greenery Day is a national holiday in Japan
Children's Day
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Children's Day is a national holiday in Japan
Children's Day observed
Monday, May 6, 2019 Children's Day is a national holiday in Japan
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Star Festival
Sunday, July 7, 2019 Star Festival is a observance in Japan
Sea Day
Monday, July 15, 2019 Sea Day is a national holiday in Japan
Hiroshima Memorial Day
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 Hiroshima Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Nagasaki Memorial Day
Friday, August 9, 2019 Nagasaki Memorial Day is a observance in Japan
Mountain Day
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Mountain Day is a national holiday in Japan
Mountain Day observed
Monday, August 12, 2019 Mountain Day is a national holiday in Japan
Respect for the Aged Day
Monday, September 16, 2019 Respect for the Aged Day is a national holiday in Japan
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Japan (Tokyo)
Autumn Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 Autumn Equinox is a national holiday in Japan
Health and Sports Day
Monday, October 14, 2019 Health and Sports Day is a national holiday in Japan
Enthronement Ceremony Day
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Enthronement Ceremony Day is a national holiday in Japan
Culture Day
Sunday, November 3, 2019 Culture Day is a national holiday in Japan
Culture Day observed
Monday, November 4, 2019 Culture Day is a national holiday in Japan
7-5-3 Day
Friday, November 15, 2019 7-5-3 Day is a observance in Japan
Labor Thanksgiving Day
Saturday, November 23, 2019 Labor Thanksgiving Day is a national holiday in Japan
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Japan (Tokyo)
Christmas
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
December 31 Bank Holiday
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 December 31 Bank Holiday is a bank holiday in Japan