Italy has a total of 24 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 New Year’s Day is celebrated in Italy on January 1 each year.
Epiphany
Sunday, January 6, 2019 Epiphany is a national holiday in Italy celebrated annually on January 6.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Italy (Rome)
Good Friday
Friday, April 19, 2019 Good Friday is part of the Holy Week of Easter. The Pope leads a large procession, the Way of the Cross, in Rome.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Easter Day is a public holiday that is celebrated widely throughout Italy each year.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 22, 2019 Easter Monday is a public holiday in Italy that is celebrated annually on the day after Easter Day.
Liberation Day
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Celebrated on April 25 each year, Italy’s Liberation Day commemorates when the Allied troops liberated the country from the Nazi occupation during World War II.
The Feast of St Mark (Venice)
Thursday, April 25, 2019 The Italian city of Venice has its own local public holiday, St Mark’s Day (Festa di San Marco) on April 25 each year.
Labor Day / May Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Labor Day is a national holiday annually held in Italy on May 1.
Republic Day
Sunday, June 2, 2019 Italy’s Republic Day is an annual public holiday on June 2 to commemorates the date Italians voted for their country end the monarchy and become a republic.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Italy (Rome)
The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin)
Monday, June 24, 2019 Florence, Turin and Genoa, in Italy, celebrate their own local holiday, the Feast of St John (Festa di San Giovanni) on June 24 each year.
The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome)
Saturday, June 29, 2019 Rome, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul on June 29 each year.
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Assumption Day, also known as the Feast of the Assumption, is an annual public holiday in Italy on August 15.
Ferragosto
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Ferragosto is a observance in Italy
The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples)
Thursday, September 19, 2019 Naples, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saint Januarius on September 19 each year.
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Italy (Rome)
All Saints' Day
Friday, November 1, 2019 In Italy All Saints’ Day is a national public holiday celebrated on November 1 to commemorate the Catholic saints.
The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan)
Saturday, December 7, 2019 The Feast of Saint Ambrose is a day off for most people in Milan, one of Italy’s largest cities, on December 7 every year.
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Sunday, December 8, 2019 Immaculate Conception Day is a nationwide holiday in Italy on December 8 that celebrates the belief that Jesus’ mother Mary is “free of sin”.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Italy (Rome)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 25 to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.
St. Stephen's Day
Thursday, December 26, 2019 St Stephen’s Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 26.
New Year's Eve
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Many Italians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 to farewell the old year and prepare for the New Year.