Ethiopia has a total of 17 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Ethiopian Christmas Day
Monday, January 7, 2019 Many Orthodox churches annually celebrate Christmas Day on or around January 7. This event commemorates the story of Jesus Christ’s birth, according to the Christian Bible.
Epiphany / Timkat
Saturday, January 19, 2019 Epiphany / Timkat is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Adwa Victory Day
Saturday, March 2, 2019 Adwa Victory Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 March Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Ethiopian Good Friday
Friday, April 26, 2019 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Ethiopian Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 28, 2019 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
International Labor Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Freedom Day
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Freedom Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Derg Downfall Day
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 Derg Downfall Day is a public holiday in Ethiopia
Eid ul Fitr
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Eid-al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
June Solstice
Friday, June 21, 2019 June Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Ethiopian New Year
Thursday, September 12, 2019 Ethiopian New Year is a public holiday in Ethiopia
September Equinox
Monday, September 23, 2019 September Equinox in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)
Meskel
Friday, September 27, 2019 Meskel is a public holiday in Ethiopia
The Prophet's Birthday
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Sunday, December 22, 2019 December Solstice in Ethiopia (Addis Ababa)