China has a total of 23 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday January 1 National holiday
New Year's weekend
Wednesday January 2 Common local holiday
Spring Festival Eve
Monday February 4 National holiday
Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year, also known as the Spring Festival, is one of the largest celebratory events in China.
Tuesday February 5 National holiday
Spring Festival Golden Week holiday
Sunday February 10 Common local holiday
Lantern Festival
Tuesday February 19 Observance
International Women's Day
Friday March 8 Observance
Zhonghe Festival
Friday March 8 Observance
Arbor Day
Tuesday March 12 Observance
Qing Ming Jie
Friday April 5 National holiday
Qing Ming Jie holiday
Sunday April 7 National holiday
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Wednesday May 1 National holiday
Youth Day
Saturday May 4 Observance
Children's Day
Saturday June 1 Observance
Dragon Boat Festival
The Dragon Boat Festival is also known as the Duanwu Festival in China. It is celebrated on the fifth day of the fifth month on the Chinese lunisolar calendar.
Friday June 7 National holiday
Chinese Valentine's Day
Wednesday August 7 Observance
Spirit Festival
Thursday August 15 Observance
Teachers' Day
Tuesday September 10 Observance
Mid-Autumn Festival
Friday September 13 National holiday
National Day
Tuesday October 1 National holiday
National Day Golden Week holiday
Monday October 7 Common local holiday
Double Ninth Festival
Monday October 7 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Wednesday December 25 Observance