Bhutan has a total of 18 holidays in 2019. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
Winter Solstice (Nyilo)
Wednesday January 2 National holiday
Traditional Day of Offerings
Sunday January 6 National holiday
March Equinox
Wednesday March 20 Season
Death Anniversary of Zhabdrung (Zhabdrung Kuchoe)
Sunday April 14 National holiday
Birth Anniversary of Third Druk Gyalpo
Thursday May 2 National holiday
Buddha's Parinirvana
Monday June 17 National holiday
June Solstice
Friday June 21 Season
Birth Anniversary of Guru Rinpoche
Thursday July 11 National holiday
Buddha's First Sermon
Sunday August 4 National holiday
September Equinox
Monday September 23 Season
Blessed Rainy Day
Tuesday September 24 National holiday
Thimphu Drubchoe (Thimphu only)
Friday October 4 Local holiday
Tuesday October 8 National holiday
King Jigme Khesar Namgyel's Coronation
Friday November 1 National holiday
Birth Anniversary of the Fourth Druk Gyalpo/Consitution Day
Monday November 11 National holiday
Descending Day of Lord Buddha
Tuesday November 19 National holiday
National Day
Tuesday December 17 National holiday
December Solstice
Sunday December 22 Season