Romania has a total of 33 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day (Anul Nou) and the following day, on January 1 and 2 respectively, are annual holidays in Romania.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Day after New Year's Day
Both New Year’s Day (Anul Nou) and the following day, on January 1 and 2 respectively, are annual holidays in Romania.
Tuesday January 2 National holiday
Unification Day
Unification Day celebrates the political union between Wallachia and Moldavia, which is deemed as the foundation of modern Romania.
Wednesday January 24 National holiday
Constantin Brancusi Day
Monday February 19 Observance
Dragobete
Dragobete is a folk holiday in Romania with ancient origins that centers on love and the return of spring.
Saturday February 24 Observance
Mărțișor
Mărțișor in Romania celebrates the start of spring. The name stems from the word March, which is “martie” in Romanian.
Thursday March 1 Observance
International Women's Day
Many people in Romania celebrate Women’s Day on March 8.
Thursday March 8 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Orthodox Good Friday
Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Friday April 6 National holiday,Orthodox
Orthodox Easter Day
Easter (Paștele) is both a religious and a national holiday in Romania. The Easter date is based on the Orthodox Christian Church’s calendar.
Sunday April 8 National holiday,Orthodox
Orthodox Easter Monday
The Day after Easter (Paștele) is both a religious and a national holiday in Romania. The Easter date is based on the Orthodox Christian Church’s calendar.
Monday April 9 National holiday,Orthodox
Labor Day / May Day
Labor Day (Ziua muncii) is a national public holiday in Romania on May 1 each year.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Mother's Day
Many Romanians celebrate Mother’s Day (Ziua Mamei) on the first Sunday of May.
Sunday May 6 Observance
Monarchy Day
Thursday May 10 Observance
Father's Day
Many Romanians celebrate Father’s Day (Ziua Tatălui) on the second Sunday of May.
Sunday May 13 Observance
Orthodox Ascension Day
Ascension Day (Înălțarea) is an annual observance in Romania to commemorate the Christian belief of Jesus Christ’s ascension into heaven.
Thursday May 17 Observance,Orthodox
Orthodox Pentecost
Many Christians in Romania celebrate the Pentecost (Rusalii or Rusaliile) public holiday, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 27 National holiday,Orthodox
Orthodox Pentecost Monday
Many Christians celebrate the Whit Monday (Rusalii or Rusaliile) public holiday in Romania.
Monday May 28 National holiday,Orthodox
Children's Day
Children’s Day (Ziua Copilului) is annually celebrated on June 1 in Romania.
Friday June 1 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Flag Day
Romania’s Flag Day (Ziua Tricolorului) is an annual observance on June 26.
Tuesday June 26 Observance
National Anthem Day
Romania’s Anthem Day (Ziua Imnului Național) is an annual observance on July 29.
Sunday July 29 Observance
St Mary's Day
The feast day of the Assumption of Mary is a national holiday in Romania on August 15 every year.
Wednesday August 15 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Halloween
Some places in Romania, including in parts of Transylvania, have special Halloween events inspired by the Dracula theme on October 31.
Wednesday October 31 Observance
St Andrew's Day
St Andrew’s Day (Ziua Sfântului Andrei) is a national holiday in Romania on November 30 every year.
Friday November 30 National holiday
National holiday
National Day in Romania, also called Unification Day, is an annual public holiday to remember when the country’s provinces became united on December 1, 1918.
Saturday December 1 National holiday
Constitution Day
Romania’s Constitution Day is observed on December 8 every year.
Saturday December 8 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve
Christmas Eve, or the day before Christmas Day, falls on December 24 every year in Romania.
Monday December 24 Observance
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a Christian holiday to celebrate Jesus Christ’s birth in Romania and falls on December 25 every year.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
Second day of Christmas
The second day of Christmas falls on December 26 and is part of a two-day Christian holiday in Romania to celebrate Jesus Christ’s birth.
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve
Many Romanians celebrate New Year’s Eve (Revelion) on December 31, the last day of the year in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 Observance