Japan has a total of 34 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
January 2 Bank Holiday
Tuesday January 2 Common local holiday
January 3 Bank Holiday
Wednesday January 3 Common local holiday
Coming of Age Day
Monday January 8 National holiday
National Foundation Day
Sunday February 11 National holiday
National Foundation Day observed
Monday February 12 National holiday
Valentine's Day
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Dolls' Festival/Girls' Festival
Saturday March 3 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Spring Equinox
Wednesday March 21 National holiday
Shōwa Day
Sunday April 29 National holiday
Shōwa Day observed
Monday April 30 National holiday
Constitution Memorial Day
Thursday May 3 National holiday
Greenery Day
Friday May 4 National holiday
Children's Day
Saturday May 5 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Star Festival
Saturday July 7 Observance
Sea Day
Monday July 16 National holiday
Hiroshima Memorial Day
Monday August 6 Observance
Nagasaki Memorial Day
Thursday August 9 Observance
Mountain Day
Saturday August 11 National holiday
Respect for the Aged Day
Monday September 17 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Autumn Equinox
Sunday September 23 National holiday
Autumn Equinox observed
Monday September 24 National holiday
Health and Sports Day
Monday October 8 National holiday
Culture Day
Saturday November 3 National holiday
7-5-3 Day
Thursday November 15 Observance
Labor Thanksgiving Day
Friday November 23 National holiday
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Emperor's Birthday
Sunday December 23 National holiday
Emperor's Birthday observed
Monday December 24 National holiday
Christmas
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 Observance
December 31 Bank Holiday
Monday December 31 Common local holiday