Iceland has a total of 29 holidays in 2018. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date Type
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday January 1 National holiday
Twelfth Night
Saturday January 6 Observance
Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday marks the first day of Lent in western Christian churches.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
Valentine's Day
Valentine’s Day is a special time to celebrate love, romance and friendship.
Wednesday February 14 Observance
March Equinox
Tuesday March 20 Season
Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Thursday March 29 National holiday
Good Friday
Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Friday March 30 National holiday
Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Saturday March 31 Observance
Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Sunday April 1 National holiday
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Monday April 2 National holiday
First Day of Summer
Thursday April 19 National holiday
Labour Day
May Day, or Labor Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Tuesday May 1 National holiday
Ascension Day
Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Thursday May 10 National holiday
Mothers' Day
Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Sunday May 13 Observance
Whit Sunday
Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Sunday May 20 National holiday
Whit Monday
Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Monday May 21 National holiday
Icelandic Republic Day
Sunday June 17 National holiday
June Solstice
Thursday June 21 Season
Commerce Day
Monday August 6 National holiday
Bank Holiday
Monday August 6 National holiday
September Equinox
Sunday September 23 Season
Halloween
Halloween is a festive occasion that is celebrated in many countries on October 31 each year.
Wednesday October 31 Observance
Fathers' Day
Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Sunday November 11 Observance
Independence Day
Saturday December 1 Observance
December Solstice
Friday December 21 Season
Christmas Eve (from noon)
Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 24 National holiday
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday December 25 National holiday
Second Day of Christmas
Wednesday December 26 National holiday
New Year's Eve (from noon)
New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.
Monday December 31 National holiday