Italy has a total of 23 holidays in 2017. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downaloadble as a csv or json file. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Weekday Date
New Year's Day
New Year’s Day is celebrated in Italy on January 1 each year.
Sunday January 1
Epiphany
Epiphany is a national holiday in Italy celebrated annually on January 6.
Friday January 6
March Equinox
Monday March 20
Good Friday
Good Friday is part of the Holy Week of Easter. The Pope leads a large procession, the Way of the Cross, in Rome.
Friday April 14
Easter Sunday
Easter Day is a public holiday that is celebrated widely throughout Italy each year.
Sunday April 16
Easter Monday
Easter Monday is a public holiday in Italy that is celebrated annually on the day after Easter Day.
Monday April 17
Liberation Day
Celebrated on April 25 each year, Italy’s Liberation Day commemorates when the Allied troops liberated the country from the Nazi occupation during World War II.
Tuesday April 25
The Feast of St Mark
The Italian city of Venice has its own local public holiday, St Mark’s Day (Festa di San Marco) on April 25 each year.
Tuesday April 25
Labor Day / May Day
Labor Day is a national holiday annually held in Italy on May 1.
Monday May 1
Republic Day
Italy’s Republic Day is an annual public holiday on June 2 to commemorates the date Italians voted for their country end the monarchy and become a republic.
Friday June 2
June Solstice
Wednesday June 21
The Feast of St. John (Florence, Genoa, Turin)
Florence, Turin and Genoa, in Italy, celebrate their own local holiday, the Feast of St John (Festa di San Giovanni) on June 24 each year.
Saturday June 24
The Feast of St. Peter and St. Paul (Rome)
Rome, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul on June 29 each year.
Thursday June 29
Assumption of Mary / Ferragosto
Assumption Day, also known as the Feast of the Assumption, is an annual public holiday in Italy on August 15.
Tuesday August 15
The Feast of Saint Januarius (Naples)
Naples, in Italy, celebrates its own local holiday, the Feast of Saint Januarius on September 19 each year.
Tuesday September 19
September Equinox
Friday September 22
All Saints' Day
In Italy All Saints’ Day is a national public holiday celebrated on November 1 to commemorate the Catholic saints.
Wednesday November 1
The Feast of St. Ambrose (Milan)
The Feast of Saint Ambrose is a day off for most people in Milan, one of Italy’s largest cities, on December 7 every year.
Thursday December 7
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Immaculate Conception Day is a nationwide holiday in Italy on December 8 that celebrates the belief that Jesus’ mother Mary is “free of sin”.
Friday December 8
December Solstice
Thursday December 21
Christmas Day
Christmas Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 25 to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.
Monday December 25
St. Stephen's Day
St Stephen’s Day is a public holiday in Italy on December 26.
Tuesday December 26
New Year's Eve
Many Italians celebrate New Year’s Eve on December 31 to farewell the old year and prepare for the New Year.
Sunday December 31