Burkina Faso has a total of 20 holidays in 2024. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Monday, January 1, 2024 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Burkina Faso Popular Uprising Day
Wednesday, January 3, 2024 Burkina Faso Popular Uprising Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
International Women's Day
Friday, March 8, 2024 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
Ramadan Start
Monday, March 11, 2024 Ramadan is a period of prayer, reflection and fasting for many Muslims worldwide. It is the ninth month in the Islamic calendar.
March Equinox
Wednesday, March 20, 2024 March Equinox in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Easter Monday
Monday, April 1, 2024 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Eid al-Fitr
Wednesday, April 10, 2024 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Labour Day
Wednesday, May 1, 2024 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 9, 2024 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Eid al-Adha
Monday, June 17, 2024 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
June Solstice
Thursday, June 20, 2024 June Solstice in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
National Day
Monday, August 5, 2024 National Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
Assumption of Mary
Thursday, August 15, 2024 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
The Prophet's Birthday
Monday, September 16, 2024 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
September Equinox
Sunday, September 22, 2024 September Equinox in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Martyrs' Day
Thursday, October 31, 2024 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
All Saints’ Day
Friday, November 1, 2024 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Proclamation of Independence Day
Wednesday, December 11, 2024 Proclamation of Independence Day is a public holiday in Burkina Faso
December Solstice
Saturday, December 21, 2024 December Solstice in Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou)
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2024 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
API icon

Start using our Holiday API

Use our Holiday data in your applications programmatically. No credit card is required to start.

Worldwide 2024 Holidays By Months
January 2024
February 2024
March 2024
April 2024
May 2024
June 2024
July 2024
August 2024
September 2024
October 2024
November 2024
December 2024