Uruguay has a total of 25 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
The Three Wise Men Day
Friday, January 6, 2023 The Three Wise Men Day is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Monday
Monday, February 20, 2023 Carnival / Shrove Monday is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Carnival / Shrove Tuesday / Pancake Day
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Shrove Tuesday is a religious holiday before the fasting period of Lent. It is celebrated by eating pancakes and holding Carnival parades.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Landing of the 33 orientals observed
Monday, April 17, 2023 Landing of the 33 orientals is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Landing of the 33 orientals
Wednesday, April 19, 2023 Landing of the 33 orientals is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Battle of Las Piedras
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Battle of Las Piedras is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Battle of Las Piedras observed
Monday, May 22, 2023 Battle of Las Piedras is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
José Artigas' Birthday Memorial
Monday, June 19, 2023 José Artigas' Birthday Memorial is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Constitution Day
Tuesday, July 18, 2023 Constitution Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
Independence Day
Friday, August 25, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Uruguay
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Day of cultural diversity
Thursday, October 12, 2023 Day of cultural diversity is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
Day of cultural diversity observed
Monday, October 16, 2023 Day of cultural diversity is a bank / working holiday in Uruguay
All Souls' Day
Thursday, November 2, 2023 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Uruguay (Montevideo)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.