Uganda has a total of 21 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Liberation Day
Thursday, January 26, 2023 Liberation Day is a public holiday in Uganda
Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum
Thursday, February 16, 2023 Remembrance of Archbishop Janani Luwum is a public holiday in Uganda
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Labour Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Martyr's Day
Saturday, June 3, 2023 Martyr's Day is a public holiday in Uganda
National Heroes Day
Friday, June 9, 2023 National Heroes Day is a public holiday in Uganda
Father's Day
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 Father's Day is a observance in Uganda
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Uganda (Mexico City)
Independence Day
Monday, October 9, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Uganda
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Uganda (Mexico City)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Uganda