Tanzania, United Republic of has a total of 24 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Zanzibar Revolution Day
Thursday, January 12, 2023 Zanzibar Revolution Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Karume Day
Friday, April 7, 2023 Karume Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Eid el Fitri
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid el Fitri Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Eid el Fitri Holiday is a public holiday in Tanzania
Union Day
Wednesday, April 26, 2023 Union Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Worker's Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Worker's Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Saba Saba
Friday, July 7, 2023 Saba Saba is a public holiday in Tanzania
Farmers' Day
Tuesday, August 8, 2023 Farmers' Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Maulid
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Mwalimu Nyerere Day
Saturday, October 14, 2023 Mwalimu Nyerere Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
Independence Day
Saturday, December 9, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Tanzania
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Tanzania (Dar es Salaam)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Tanzania