South Sudan has a total of 21 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Peace Agreement Day
Monday, January 9, 2023 Peace Agreement Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a observance in South Sudan
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
SPLA Day
Tuesday, May 16, 2023 SPLA Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Father's Day
Saturday, June 10, 2023 Father's Day is a observance in South Sudan
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Mother's Day
Monday, July 3, 2023 Mother's Day is a observance in South Sudan
Independence Day
Sunday, July 9, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
Martyrs Day
Sunday, July 30, 2023 Martyrs Day is a public holiday in South Sudan
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in South Sudan (Juba)
Grandparents' Day
Sunday, November 12, 2023 Grandparents' Day is a observance in South Sudan
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in South Sudan (Juba)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Republic Day
Thursday, December 28, 2023 Republic Day is a observance in South Sudan
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.