Mali has a total of 19 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Army Day
Friday, January 20, 2023 Army Day is a public holiday in Mali
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Mali (Bamako)
Martyrs' Day
Sunday, March 26, 2023 Martyrs' Day is a public holiday in Mali
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Leylatoul Qadr
Tuesday, April 18, 2023 Laylat al-Qadr commmemorates the time when Mohammad received the first verses of the Koran (Qu'ran).
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Workers' Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Africa Day
Thursday, May 25, 2023 Africa Day is a public holiday in Mali
Whit Monday
Monday, May 29, 2023 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Mali (Bamako)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Ashura Holiday
Friday, July 28, 2023 Ashura Holiday is a public holiday in Mali
Independence Day
Friday, September 22, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Mali
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Mali (Bamako)
The Prophet's Birthday
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Baptism of the Prophet
Thursday, October 5, 2023 Baptism of the Prophet is a public holiday in Mali
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Mali (Bamako)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.