Kiribati has a total of 16 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
International Women's Day
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 International Women's Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Independence Day Holiday
Tuesday, July 11, 2023 Independence Day Holiday is a public holiday in Kiribati
Independence Day
Wednesday, July 12, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
Unimwane Day
Saturday, July 15, 2023 Unimwane Day is a observance in Kiribati
Unaine Day
Sunday, July 16, 2023 Unaine Day is a observance in Kiribati
Youth Day
Monday, August 7, 2023 Youth Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Human Rights and Peace Day
Monday, December 11, 2023 Human Rights and Peace Day is a public holiday in Kiribati
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Kiribati (Tarawa)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Kiribati