Hungary has a total of 22 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
1848 Revolution Memorial Day
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 1848 Revolution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Hungary
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Hungary (Budapest)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 7, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
Whit Monday
Monday, May 29, 2023 Whit Monday, or Pentecost Monday, is a Christian holiday that falls on the day after Pentecost, which is also known as Whit Sunday or Whitsunday.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Hungary (Budapest)
Hungary National Day
Sunday, August 20, 2023 Hungary National Day is a national holiday in Hungary
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Hungary (Budapest)
1956 Revolution Memorial Day
Monday, October 23, 2023 1956 Revolution Memorial Day is a national holiday in Hungary
All Saints' Day
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Saint Nicholas Day
Wednesday, December 6, 2023 St. Nicholas Day is celebrated on December 6 in many European countries, as well as areas across the world that boast a strong European influence.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Hungary (Budapest)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Second Day of Christmas
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Second Day of Christmas is a national holiday in Hungary
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.