Greece has a total of 26 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Epiphany
Friday, January 6, 2023 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
The Three Holy Hierarchs
Monday, January 30, 2023 The Three Holy Hierarchs is a observance in Greece
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
Clean Monday
Monday, February 27, 2023 Clean Monday is a de facto holiday in Greece
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Greece (Athens)
Greek Independence Day
Saturday, March 25, 2023 Greek Independence Day is a national holiday in Greece
Annunciation of the Virgin Mary
Saturday, March 25, 2023 Annunciation of the Virgin Mary is a national holiday in Greece
Orthodox Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Orthodox Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Orthodox Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2023 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Orthodox Holy Spirit Sunday
Sunday, June 4, 2023 Orthodox Holy Spirit Sunday is a observance in Greece
Orthodox Holy Spirit Monday
Monday, June 5, 2023 Orthodox Holy Spirit Monday is a de facto holiday in Greece
Father's Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Greece (Athens)
The Restoration of Democracy
Monday, July 24, 2023 The Restoration of Democracy is a observance in Greece
Dormition of the Holy Virgin
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 The Christian feast of the Assumption of Mary is on or around Aug 15 in most countries. A few celebrate Assumption Day at other times of the year.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Greece (Athens)
The Ochi day
Saturday, October 28, 2023 The Ochi day is a de facto holiday in Greece
Polytechneio
Friday, November 17, 2023 Polytechneio is a observance in Greece
Armed Forces Day
Tuesday, November 21, 2023 Armed Forces Day is a observance in Greece
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Greece (Athens)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Synaxis of the Mother of God
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Synaxis of the Mother of God is a national holiday in Greece