Ghana has a total of 26 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Constitution Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Constitution Day observed
Monday, January 9, 2023 Constitution Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Independence Day
Monday, March 6, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Ghana
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Ghana (Accra)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 8, 2023 Holy Saturday is the day before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
Eid ul-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mothers' Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
African Union Day
Thursday, May 25, 2023 African Union Day is a observance in Ghana
Fathers' Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Ghana (Accra)
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
Republic Day
Saturday, July 1, 2023 Republic Day is a observance in Ghana
Founders' Day
Friday, August 4, 2023 Founders' Day is a public holiday in Ghana
Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Day
Thursday, September 21, 2023 Kwame Nkrumah Memorial Day is a public holiday in Ghana
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Ghana (Accra)
Farmer's Day
Friday, December 1, 2023 Farmer's Day is a public holiday in Ghana
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Ghana (Accra)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a public holiday in Ghana
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.