Finland has a total of 23 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Epiphany
Friday, January 6, 2023 Epiphany is a Christian holiday celebrated globally on January 6 each year. It commemorates two events recorded in the Bible: the three wise men’s visit to baby Jesus; and Jesus’ baptism.
Valentine's Day
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 February 14 is Valentine's Day or Saint Valentine's Feast. The day of love owes its origins to ancient Roman and European Christian traditions.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Finland (Helsinki)
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 9, 2023 Easter Sunday commemorates Jesus Christ’s resurrection, according to Christian belief.
Easter Monday
Monday, April 10, 2023 Easter Monday is the day after Easter Sunday.
May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Mother's Day
Sunday, May 14, 2023 Mother’s Day celebrates the achievements and efforts of mothers and mother figures.
Ascension Day
Thursday, May 18, 2023 Ascension Day is the 40th day of Easter. It is a religious holiday that commemorates the ascension of Jesus Christ into heaven.
Whit Sunday
Sunday, May 28, 2023 Many Christians all over the world annually observe Pentecost, also known as Whitsunday or Whit Sunday.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Finland (Helsinki)
Midsummer Eve
Friday, June 23, 2023 Midsummer Eve is a de facto and bank holiday in Finland
Midsummer
Saturday, June 24, 2023 Midsummer is a national holiday in Finland
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Finland (Helsinki)
All Saints' Day
Saturday, November 4, 2023 Many churches honor all their saints on All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day.
Father's Day
Sunday, November 12, 2023 Father’s Day celebrates fatherhood and male parenting on different dates worldwide.
Independence Day
Wednesday, December 6, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Finland
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Finland (Helsinki)
Christmas Eve
Sunday, December 24, 2023 Christmas Eve is the day before Christmas Day and falls on December 24 in the Gregorian calendar.
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
Boxing Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2023 Boxing Day is a national holiday in Finland
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.