Egypt has a total of 27 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
Coptic Christmas Day
Saturday, January 7, 2023 Coptic Christmas Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Revolution Day January 25
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 Revolution Day January 25 is a national holiday in Egypt
Day off for Revolution Day January 25
Thursday, January 26, 2023 Revolution Day January 25 is a national holiday in Egypt
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Egypt (Cairo)
Coptic Good Friday
Friday, April 14, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world annually observe Good Friday to commemorate the events leading up to Jesus Christ's crucifixion.
Coptic Holy Saturday
Saturday, April 15, 2023 The Saturday before Easter Sunday is also known as Holy Saturday for many Orthodox churches worldwide.
Coptic Easter Sunday
Sunday, April 16, 2023 Millions of Orthodox Christians around the world often celebrate Easter Sunday at a different time to the date set by many western churches.
Spring Festival
Monday, April 17, 2023 Orthodox Easter Monday is the day after the Orthodox Easter Sunday.
Eid el Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid el Fitr Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Eid el Fitr Holiday is a national holiday in Egypt
Sinai Liberation Day
Tuesday, April 25, 2023 Sinai Liberation Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Labor Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Egypt (Cairo)
Arafat Day
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Arafat Day is a national holiday in Egypt
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha (Id ul-Adha) is an Islamic festival falling on the 10th day of the month of Dhul Hijja (Thou al-Hijja) to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (Abraham) to sacrifice his son.
June 30 Revolution
Friday, June 30, 2023 June 30 Revolution is a national holiday in Egypt
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a national holiday in Egypt
Muharram
Thursday, July 20, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
Revolution Day July 23
Sunday, July 23, 2023 Revolution Day July 23 is a national holiday in Egypt
Day off for Revolution Day July 23
Thursday, July 27, 2023 Revolution Day July 23 is a national holiday in Egypt
Ashura
Saturday, July 29, 2023 Ashura is a observance in Egypt
Flooding of the Nile
Tuesday, August 15, 2023 Flooding of the Nile is a observance in Egypt
Nayrouz
Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Nayrouz is a observance in Egypt
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Egypt (Cairo)
Prophet Mohamed's Birthday
Thursday, September 28, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
Armed Forces Day
Friday, October 6, 2023 Armed Forces Day is a national holiday in Egypt
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Egypt (Cairo)