Djibouti has a total of 16 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Isra and Miraj
Saturday, February 18, 2023 Isra and Mi'raj (Isra Me'raj, Israa and Mi'raaj, Laylat Al-Isra wa Al-Miraj, Lailat al Miraj, Night Journey and Ascension to Heaven) marks the night that the Prophet Mohammad traveled from Mecca to Jerusalem, ascended to heaven and returned.
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Eid al-Fitr
Saturday, April 22, 2023 Eid al-Fitr is a holiday to mark the end of the Islamic month of Ramadan, during which Muslims fast during the hours of daylight.
Eid al-Fitr Holiday
Sunday, April 23, 2023 Eid al-Fitr Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Independence Day
Tuesday, June 27, 2023 Independence Day is a public holiday in Djibouti
Arafat Day
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Arafat Day is a public holiday in Djibouti
Independence Day Holiday
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 Independence Day Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
Eid al-Adha
Thursday, June 29, 2023 Eid al-Adha is a public holiday in Djibouti
Eid al-Adha Holiday
Friday, June 30, 2023 Eid al-Adha Holiday is a public holiday in Djibouti
Muharram
Wednesday, July 19, 2023 Muharram is the first month of the Islamic calendar and a time of remembrance or mourning.
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Djibouti (Djibouti)
Milad un Nabi (Mawlid)
Wednesday, September 27, 2023 Mawlid, or Milad, marks the birth of the Islamic prophet Muhammed, or Mohamed, in the year 570 of the Gregorian calendar.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Djibouti (Djibouti)