Costa Rica has a total of 24 holidays in 2023. In the table below, you will find the details of the holidays and when they are observed. All the information display below is also available via our API as well as downloadable as a csv. Signup here to get started.

These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates or sign up for our newsletter to receive regular updates. All updates are automatically added to our API as well.

Our API allows you to specify the State and Region as part of the API requests, thereby limiting the requests to a particular state or city. View the API documentation for a full description of the supported countries, states and regions.

Holiday Date Details
New Year's Day
Sunday, January 1, 2023 New Year’s Day is the first day of the year, or January 1, in the Gregorian calendar.
Saint Joseph's Day
Sunday, March 19, 2023 Saint Joseph's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
March Equinox
Monday, March 20, 2023 March Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Maundy Thursday
Thursday, April 6, 2023 Maundy Thursday is a Christian observance on the Thursday during Holy Week. It is the day before Good Friday.
Good Friday
Friday, April 7, 2023 Good Friday is a global Christian observance two days before Easter Sunday.
Battle of Rivas
Monday, April 10, 2023 Battle of Rivas is a national holiday in Costa Rica
Labor Day / May Day
Monday, May 1, 2023 Labor Day, International Workers' Day, and May Day, is a day off for workers in many countries around the world.
Father's Day
Sunday, June 18, 2023 Father's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
June Solstice
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 June Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Annexation of Guanacaste
Monday, July 24, 2023 Annexation of Guanacaste is a national holiday in Costa Rica
Our Lady of Los Ángeles
Wednesday, August 2, 2023 Our Lady of Los Ángeles is a non compulsory payment holiday in Costa Rica
Mother's Day
Monday, August 14, 2023 Mother's Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
National Parks Day
Thursday, August 24, 2023 National Parks Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Day of the Black Person and Afro-Costa Rican Culture
Sunday, September 3, 2023 Day of the Black Person and Afro-Costa Rican Culture is a non compulsory payment holiday in Costa Rica
Children's Day
Saturday, September 9, 2023 Children's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Independence Day
Friday, September 15, 2023 Independence Day is a national holiday in Costa Rica
September Equinox
Saturday, September 23, 2023 September Equinox in Costa Rica (San Jose)
All Souls' Day
Thursday, November 2, 2023 All Souls’ Day falls on November 2 each year. It is a day of alms giving and prayers for the dead.
Teacher's Day
Wednesday, November 22, 2023 Teacher's Day is a observance in Costa Rica
Day of Abolition of the Army
Friday, December 1, 2023 Day of Abolition of the Army is a non compulsory payment holiday in Costa Rica
Feast of the Immaculate Conception
Friday, December 8, 2023 The Feast of the Immaculate Conception is a Christian observance on December 8 each year.
December Solstice
Friday, December 22, 2023 December Solstice in Costa Rica (San Jose)
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25, 2023 Christmas Day is one of the biggest Christian celebrations and falls on December 25 in the Gregorian calendar.
New Year's Eve
Sunday, December 31, 2023 New Year’s Eve is the last day of the year, December 31, in the Gregorian calendar.